Cockerel [ Daily Prompt: Dancing ]

This is an old poem of mine. I wrote it my junior year of college after a blur of a relationship and through the hope of something new. This was when I realized that my hopes were aimed too high and my distorted heart was trying to see something that wasn’t there. I read it now and feel mostly grateful that the old adage “this too shall pass” so often proves true. I am eternally indebted to the people who put up with me through this disheveled period of my life – those who laughed when I laughed, cried when I cried, and ultimately gave me the push to move on. I still think about it all from time to time, and I think about how it could have been different, and I think about what I would be missing out on now. But nevertheless, I think about it. Fitzgerald had it right when he said, “So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.” 

Here’s to a new direction. 

 

Cockerel

 

We spent last night in a hushed train station

The lights blurred lines like lawyers – devoted

Your smile was slow – solicitous – the shape of a scar –

 

It wasn’t really that melodramatic but –

In the champagne crash of the blaze on your brow

I got lost – irrevocably enveloped – in you

 

You told me I should swing in – stop by –

Dance – count the constellations – shit maybe

Someday you’d show me how you do breakfast

 

Romance smells different every time – and you proposed

We go with Panama Red because that one sticks around –

Never mind the ash that fell from your fingertips

 

This morning I woke up and my heart stopped

Like a bullet braking – backing down the barrel

Taking the time to love – lapping up the powder

 

It was then that I thought of the weathervane

And how if this relationship had one – it would be

One tired – dizzy – dyslexic son of a bitch

 

But a muse answers her call so I come – meticulously

Moving – stepping over and around – tip toeing

Through – taking care that nothing stirs – but You

 

Dancing

 

Leave a Reply

